The One Habit That Will Singlehandedly Transform Your Life

Why Journaling is the most powerful habit you could have, and how to establish it.

Dominik Nitsch
9 min readNov 2, 2019
Photo by carolyn christine on Unsplash

“Dear diary…”

That’s what most of us imagine when they hear “journaling”: a teenage girl confessing her celebrity crushes to her diary, at least according to my female friends. High school boys, mean girlfriends and struggle with identity are the favorite topics.

I also keep a journal. There’s only one striking difference: I’m a 26 year old male, and I rarely have celebrity crushes.

I journal because I believe it’s the single most powerful habit a person can have.

In the Tim Ferriss Show, the host of the same name deconstructs the habits and routines of highly successful people from all sorts of fields — scientists, athletes, politicians, entrepreneurs, CEOs, firefighters, authors and so on. In the early episodes, a book called the “5 minute journal” came up over and over again.

Fuck it”, I figured. “If all these people are doing it, I might as well do it.”

The 5-minute-journal consists of five different prompts, three for the morning and two for the evening. I’ve played around with it for a while, but I really don’t like it.

--

--

Dominik Nitsch

Entrepreneur | Athlete | Writer. Reflecting on life’s challenges and figuring out ways to overcome them.